top of page

Fall & Winter Crochet Plans (2021)

I started crocheting earlier this year and now have a few simple projects under my belt.


I was very frustrated when I first picked up crochet because I was only able to use video tutorials to teach myself, so I progressed pretty slowly for most of the year. But I finally had more time the last couple of months to dedicate to skill building and am starting to feel much more confident and excited about crocheting!


So here is the list of projects I have planned, as well as some "wishlist" projects that I'd like to get to if time (and my skill level) permits!


Planned Projects


Crochet Block Blanket

This is one of the first crochet projects that I started! ... and I'm still working on it haha.

This blanket pattern is so simple and easy to do, but it does take some time to work up all the big squares. I got frustrated and stopped working on this one for a while because my gauge was still changing as I was learning, and as a result my squares kept turning out different sizes.


I have since started working on it some more and I'd really like to finish before it gets too cold outside!


The yarn I'm using is Loops & Threads Impeccable. The colors are all greys, blues, and purples. I'm also planning to seam the squares together with a dark navy blue for some fun contrast!




Chunky Wool Beanie

This one is the Easy Breezy Super Chunky Beanie by Who's Homemade and it's a free pattern! Not only that, but it's part of a set of free beanie patterns. These patterns all use a different weight of yarn, and this one in particular uses a super bulky (6) yarn. And they're all so simple to make!


So, here's the tea on this one. I've already finished it!


The yarn I used is actually the recommended one, Lion Brand Thick & Quick, in the color "Fisherman". This yarn is an acrylic & wool blend, so it's fluffy and warm. I ended up needing more than 1 skein of this yarn as well, but that could be due to my tension.


My beanie turned out so squishy and lovely! I finished it and wore it while on our trip to Jackson Hole this month. It was perfect for the cold weather!



Easy Breezy Ribbed Beanie

Remember the beanie set I just mentioned? Well this is another free pattern from that set!


The difference between this one and the previous one is the yarn weight. This beanie uses a medium (4) weight yarn. I'm actually making this one for my husband, and the yarn he picked is Lion Brand Heartland in the color "Great Smokey Mountains". I love it so much!


I started this one on our trip to Jackson Hole as well, but am still currently working on it!




Eloise Socks

These socks are by Allison M Clark of Stitchery & Co.

I'll be making these cuties as part of the Spooky Season Stitch-Along! This is going to be my first ever sock, as well as the first time I'll be working with a superfine (1) weight yarn. I'm nervous, but also so excited to make these!


I wanted my yarn colors to be somewhat Halloween-ish to go along with the theme of the stitch along. What I eventually settled on is the Hawthorne yarn by Knit Picks. The colors I picked out are Jupiter Speckle for the main body of the sock and the kettle-dyed Contessa for the toe & heel. I think the light speckled yarn will contrast so nicely with the dark berry color of the toe and heel.




Crochet Scrunchie

You know how sometimes you just buy yarn without an actual project in mind? Well that's what I did with this Yarn Bee Soft & Sleek yarn from Hobby Lobby. I bought one skein of this yarn in the color "Irish Rain" very soon after I started crocheting and its been sitting in my yarn bin just waiting to be used.


And I've finally decided on the project to use it for! These scrunchies by Savlabot are perfect for using small amounts of pretty much any yarn.


I think crochet scrunchies could very quickly become an addiction, so I'm excited for this one as well.



Cowl Scarf

This is a project that I've been thinking about a lot lately. I don't have an actual pattern in mind for this, but I do want to make a cowl scarf for this winter!


I'd like to use the same yarn as the chunky beanie that I mentioned earlier, but I want to add another color too. I'm thinking about making the cowl mostly out of the "Fossil" color with a few stripes of the "Fisherman" color.


I'm still planning this one, but I think it'll ultimately be a pretty quick & simple project!


 

Wishlist Projects

I'm not going to go into too much detail about these projects, but they are definitely things I have on the back-burner or am thinking of making!



Stitchery & Co Classic Socks

I picked up a super cute yarn on our trip to Jackson Hole, and I'm thinking I'll make these Classic Socks from Stitchery & Co as some fun Christmas-y socks!



Retro Stripes Sweater

This sweater is so cute! And I think it might be a fun one to make as my first ever sweater.

Sweater Vest

I'm not sure on an exact pattern or style for this one, but I'd love to make a sweater vest this winter!

I'm currently liking this pattern on etsy.



Mittens

Everyone needs a good pair of mittens! I'd really love to have some cozy mittens for when I take the dog outside this winter.


I haven't decided what pattern I'll use yet, but I'm considering dipping my toes into the knitting pool for this one with a kit from Wool & the Gang.




Simple Granny Square Blanket

This blanket was one of the first projects I wanted to make! And the pattern was only 99 cents!

Maybe I will finally get around to it this winter. But I need to finish my other blanket first!


 

Whew, that was quite the list!

I hope you enjoyed this or even found some project ideas for yourself. Let me know what you thought!


See you soon,

xoxo dez

48 views

Recent Posts

See All

留言


20210902_091152 (1)_edited.jpg

hi, i'm dez!

I'm a software developer by day & a creative by night.

Here I share my journey of trying to live a more intentional life.

I hope you find something that speaks to you!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
  • YouTube
bottom of page